A method for valuing a single medication-reconciliation catch in an outpatient dialysis patient. Converts exposure averted into expected harm avoided using dialysis-specific attributable risk. Findings without defensible dialysis evidence return no dollar figure, by design.
Dialysis-specific cohort with a quantified HR and CI. Model the number directly.
CKD or adjacent-population risk. Model with the extrapolation labeled.
Mechanism and label consensus, no usable dialysis effect size. Do not monetize.
Evidence genuinely conflicting. Flag for review. Never auto-correct.
A Tier C drug can still be an absolute contraindication. Metformin at ESKD is the worked example: a hard stop on FDA label grounds, and unmonetizable, because no incidence of metformin-associated lactic acidosis per exposure-year in dialysis has been published. Clinical certainty and economic quantifiability are different axes.
| Anchor | As published | 2026 USD | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pellegrin, medication-related hospitalization | $16,830 (2014) | $22,958 | Primary anchor. Same paper supplies the ICD code set. |
| Bates, attributable cost per preventable ADE | $4,685 (yr assumed) | $13,184 | Dollar year not stated in source. ~2.8× inflation factor. Use as a range. |
| Bates, attributable cost per ADE | $2,595 (yr assumed) | $7,303 | Same caveat. |
| Poudel, excess cost per ADE hospitalization | $1,851 (yr assumed) | $2,747 | Excess-cost construct, not full admission cost. Low bound. |
| Bennett, ADR admission cost | €9,538 | excluded | Excluded. Gross admission cost, not attributable. The non-ADR comparator cost more (€9,828). Attributable estimate is €2,047 (95% CI −889 to 4,983), non-significant. |
Endpoints overlap and must not be summed. Gabapentin's altered-mental-status and fall endpoints come from the same cohort and the same patients. Only one endpoint per drug is modeled here.
Anticoagulant comparators are not "no drug." Dabigatran's RR 1.78 is versus warfarin. The counterfactual for a catch is a switch to warfarin or apixaban, so the value is the difference in risk, not the whole risk.
Mortality endpoints need a different model. Digoxin's HR 1.28 is for death. Multiplying it by a hospitalization cost is a category error.
Deprescribing has costs of its own. DOPPS documented substantial under-treatment of pain in dialysis (three-quarters of patients reporting moderate-to-severe pain had no analgesic prescribed). A program that removes gabapentinoids and opioids without a replacement analgesic plan is not obviously improving care, and a model counting only avoided falls will not see that.
The monetized total is a subset of clinical value. Most finding types here carry no dollar figure. That is the honest result, not a gap to be filled.
Twelve synthetic patients with genuine dialysis periods, drawn from the Clinical Epistemology cohort. Their medication management is already correct, so the tool returns $0 for every one. Toggle a patient to the counterfactual to see what reconciliation would have caught had the transition step been missed.
A dialysis patient is found, during a monthly reconciliation, to be on a drug that is misdosed, contraindicated, or otherwise inappropriate for ESKD. The drug is stopped or corrected. What was that worth?
The honest answer has three parts, and only the first is a dollar figure:
Most published MedRec value models collapse all three into one number. That is why they do not survive payer review. This framework keeps them separate.
The central move is converting an exposure metric into a probability of harm metric. Counting days off an inappropriate drug is the right raw material, but days are an input, not a value.
Expected events avoided = Baseline event rate (per patient-year)
x Attributable fraction among the exposed (AF_e)
x Exposure-time averted (patient-years)
Value = Expected events avoided x Cost per event
AF_e = (HR - 1) / HR
AF_e is the fraction of events occurring in exposed patients that are attributable to the exposure. It is the bridge between "this patient was on gabapentin 600 mg daily for 90 days" and "we avoided 0.012 falls." A hazard ratio of 1.55 means 35.5% of falls in exposed patients are attributable to the exposure, so removing it removes 35.5% of that patient's fall risk, not all of it.
Exposure-time averted must be bounded by something observable. In descending order of defensibility: observed refill and PDC data for that patient; population median time-on-drug for the agent; or a fixed conservative horizon, censored at the next scheduled reconciliation.
Note the interaction with a monthly cadence. If reconciliation happens every month, the honest counterfactual for most findings is not indefinite exposure, it is exposure until the next review. A monthly program's per-catch value is therefore lower than an annual program's, but its total value is higher because it catches more. Modeling monthly cadence with an annual exposure horizon double-counts the program's own benefit.
Not every inappropriate medication can be assigned a dollar value, and pretending otherwise is where these models lose credibility. Each drug is tiered by evidence quality, not clinical conviction.
| Tier | Definition | Modeling rule |
|---|---|---|
| A | Dialysis-specific cohort with a quantified HR/RR and CI | Model the number directly |
| B | CKD (non-dialysis) or adjacent-population quantified risk | Model with an explicit extrapolation label |
| C | Mechanism and label consensus; no usable dialysis effect size | Do not monetize. Count as process metric |
| D | Evidence genuinely conflicting | Flag for review. Never auto-correct |
A drug being in Tier C says nothing about whether it should be stopped. Metformin at ESKD is an absolute contraindication and a hard stop, and it is Tier C, because no one has published the incidence of metformin-associated lactic acidosis per exposure-year in dialysis. Clinical certainty and economic quantifiability are different axes. Conflating them is the most common failure in this literature.
All figures inflated to 2026-M07 USD using CPI-U Medical Care (BLS series CUUR0000SAM, index 593.781).
| Anchor | As published | 2026 USD | Use |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pellegrin, medication-related hospitalization | $16,830 (2014) | $22,958 | Primary anchor |
| Bates, attributable cost per preventable ADE | $4,685 (yr assumed) | $13,184 | Secondary; present as a range |
| Bates, attributable cost per ADE | $2,595 (yr assumed) | $7,303 | Secondary |
| Poudel, excess cost per ADE hospitalization | $1,851 (yr assumed) | $2,747 | Low bound |
Pellegrin is the primary anchor because it is US, Medicare, claims-auditable, and comes from the same paper that supplies the ICD code set defining the denominator, so numerator and cost are methodologically coupled. Its limitation is that it is an age-65+ general population, not dialysis.
Dollar-year warning. The Bates and Poudel dollar years are not stated in their sources; the years above are assumptions. For Bates this matters: a roughly 2.8x inflation factor over 32 years makes that anchor fragile.
A widely circulated figure puts an adverse-drug-reaction admission at EUR 9,538 (Bennett 2023). That should not be used as an avoided-cost parameter. It is the gross admission cost for ADR patients; the non-ADR comparator in the same study cost more (EUR 9,828). The paper's attributable estimate is EUR 2,047 (95% CI -889 to 4,983), not significant, with every severity and preventability interval crossing zero. Using EUR 9,538 as an avoidable cost inverts the paper's finding. It is excluded here, with the reason recorded in code so it is not silently reintroduced.
Report five things. Only the last is a dollar figure, and it is reported as a range.
Effect sizes: Ishida JASN 2018;29:1970-78 and CJASN 2018;13:746-53; Chan Circulation 2015;131:972-9 and JASN 2010;21:1550-9; Muanda JAMA 2019;322:1987-95; Siontis Circulation 2018;138:1519-29; Hung CID 2005;41:291-300; Blumenberg J Med Toxicol 2020;16:222-29; Joglar JACC 2024;83:109-279.
Cost and program effects: Pellegrin JAGS 2017;65:212-19; Bates JAMA 1997;277:307-11; Poudel PDS 2017;26:635-41; Deng Front Pharmacol 2023;14:1143444; Bulow Cochrane 2023;1:CD008986; Ciapponi Cochrane 2021;11:CD009985; Viswanathan JAMA Intern Med 2015;175:76-87; Peasah JMCP 2021;27:147-56.
Inflation: US Bureau of Labor Statistics, CPI-U Medical Care, series CUUR0000SAM, retrieved 2026-09-10.